Rainbow UK Higher Education

Striving to Promote Equality and Diversity in UK Higher Education

Ten institutions on track to become universities

This will lead to the single biggest creation of universities since 1992. It follows the Government’s announcement in June that red tape barring some smaller institutions from being awarded the title of ‘university’ would be removed. Previously, institutions needed a minimum of 4,000 students to become a university. This has now been reduced to 1,000.

The applicants being put forward to the Privy Council for formal approval are:

The Arts University College at Bournemouth

Bishop Grosseteste University College Lincoln

Harper Adams University College

Leeds Trinity University College

Newman University College, Birmingham

Norwich University College of the Arts

Royal Agricultural College

University College Birmingham

University College Falmouth

University College Plymouth St. Mark & St. John

Universities and Science Minister David Willetts said:

via BIS – UK Department for Business Innovations & Ski : Ten institutions on track to become universities.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s